Ebenezer Street Series! Kutchi Deli Parwana Has My Heart

Rundle Street East. Happiness and Sunshine

Rundle Street East. Happiness and Sunshine

Because the sweet smells of the street are irresistible to me, I’ve been back to Ebenezer Place already to get more tasty lunches up in my face. While all the little cafes look and smell amazing, there’s one place that I’ve been dying to try. There are always people filling up the benches with plates and plates of something a little different. And finally, it was my turn. At long last, I’ve visited Kutchi Deli Parwana, the new street food version of Henley Beach’s Afghan Kitchen, and it was everything I’d dreamed of and more.

So pretty!

So pretty!

Kutchi Deli Parwana is delightful right from the get go. You choose what you’d like, which is no easy task when everything sounds delicious, from the blackboard in front of the door. As you waft inside on the smells, you can appreciate how gorgeous the set up is. I mean, just look at those decorations and bluer than blue tiles! It’s a really fresh change from the rustic darker wooden colours we’ve gotten used to in the area. You order at a large window and then you can just go and sit at the tables and wait for it to come to you. When I went, there was a huge line as there always is so I was prepared to wait for ages, but it came out before I was even able to start taking notes. It feels open and fresh and different and gets you all excited to tuck into whatever you’ve finally decided is the MOST perfect.

 

Deliciousness housed in environmental friendliness.

Deliciousness housed in environmental friendliness.

I don’t remember the exact name of what I had because honestly, it was a while ago and I was too hungry to take good notes. Sue me. I had fried dumplings stuffed with leek covered in lamb mince sauce, yoghurt and spices. If that doesn’t make you drool then I’m not describing it well enough. Usually a hearty meal like that can leave you feeling heavy and icky, but this just fills you with satisfaction. I didn’t have to snack on anything before dinner and my friends will know that this is no easy feat! Mmmm. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Double the joy for coming the week before Bay to Birdwood!

Double the joy for coming the week before Bay to Birdwood!

Kutchi Deli Parwana is a refreshingly unique if tiny option on popular Ebenezer Place. If you’re after something that tastes different to anything else available on the street and don’t mind paying a teensy bit more than you would for a fancy sandwich, this is the deli for you. I have no idea about true traditional Afghani food, but if this is it then book me a ticket. Yum.

For more on Ebenezer Place, go and see Mother Vine for all your wine bar needs. Remember, you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more regular updates on what’s coming up AND up and coming around our gorgeous Adelaide! Thanks!

5 comments

Leave a comment